Why?

Will subsequent entries be easier than this?  I’ve thought of a dozen things you need to know, of which approximately 1.7 are interesting.  Let’s venture into the unknown together!

1. Why am I doing a blog?

To share with friends and family my experiences in Kenya as a Kiva FellowMy plan is to post a bit about Kiva, KADET, my daily life as a fellow in Nairobi,  and any travel I get to do around the country.  You can read more about being a Kiva Fellow and what I’m doing here.

2. Why do you want to be a Kiva Fellow?

Not for the money.  (Fellowships are unpaid, but still surprisingly competitive.)  I think the work Kiva and similar organizations are undertaking is absolutely intriguing.  Microfinance can be a very positive international development tool, and I want to learn more about how the work is carried out on the ground.  I think this will be a good compliment to the knowledge and experience I have with agriculture and the environment.  KADET, coincidentally, funds loans for agriculture and household solar tools.

I’m going to sound a bit grand and definitely idealistic, but I sincerely believe that by empowering each other we can create a better, more peaceful world.  This work can be a small piece of that puzzle solution.

Regardless of what happens, I know this will be an enriching experience.  If I’m fortunate, I’ll find out whether I’m good at this sort of work and if I enjoy it.  Oh, and get a paying job when I’m done.  Those are good, too.

3.  What’s your husband going to do while you’re gone?  I can’t believe he’s letting you go.

He’s going to keep working in Kernersville and take our dog out for lots of long walks.  If you want to say thanks for letting me go on my behalf, he’s available for parties and he’s not picky about what he eats.  Hopefully, he’ll be able to come visit while I’m there.  We’ll figure that out once I get to Nairobi and get a bit settled into my job.

We’ve talked about me doing something like this fellowship quite a bit between ourselves and with others. We think a “field experience” is the missing link I need to be taken seriously when applying for the types of sustainable agriculture/off-grid energy/risk assessment jobs I’m interested in doing.  Besides that, he’s a pretty laid-back guy and we trust each other.

4.  Where are the pictures of zebras and giraffes?

Relax, they’re coming.  I don’t leave for Nairobi till January 27th.  Till then, just photos of packing and training in San Francisco.

I’m planning to update the blog about once a week.  If you’d like to receive automatic notice via email, you can sign-up to follow me to the left.

Alright, first post is done.  I’d love to hear back about what sort of things you are interested in having me cover in my blog–leave a comment or send me an email!  What would you like to see me cover in this blog?

“A real decision is measured by the fact that you’ve taken a new action. If there’s no action, you haven’t truly decided.”
Tony Robbins

3 responses to “Why?

  1. Jada, I am so excited for you to be able to take advantage of this opportunity. My interests include foods, dress, laundry, drinking water, how they cook, neighbors, families, etc. Just about any & everything that you get to see & do. Have a ball and thanks for caring about mankind.

    • Barbara, I’m so very excited to have you on board. I think our interests align pretty well, so I’ll be able to include these things in my blogs easily. As in any country these things range the gamut, so I’ll try to make sure I give y’all a complete as picture as possible! By the way, I was really excited to find out they love collard greens here, just like me! They call them sukuma wiki–I’ll share more about them later.

Leave a Reply

